Licensure Requirements

To practice in the United States, including Illinois, students must successfully complete an ACPE accredited Doctor of Pharmacy program. Students must also accrue a minimum number of practical training hours and pass two licensure examinations; the North American Pharmacy Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) and NABP Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE). More information about licensure examinations is available from the: National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, 1600 Feehanville Drive, Mount Prospect, IL 60056, 847/391-4406

Midwestern University College of Pharmacy’s Doctor of Pharmacy program meets the educational requirements for licensure to practice as a pharmacist in the following states and territories: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.  

Each student should check the additional licensure requirements for the state, district, or territory in which they intend to pursue employment.

Special Note: Licensure in the states of Arkansas and South Dakota requires an additional 240 hours of pharmacy practice experiences.  Licensure in the state of Minnesota may require additional hours of traditional compounding and dispensing pharmacy practice experience.

Midwestern University College of Pharmacy, Downers Grove Campus has not made a determination that its Doctor of Pharmacy Program curriculum meets the territorial educational requirements for licensure or certification in the following territories: Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands.  Students in this program receive a direct notification that Midwestern University has not made a determination if their program meets the requirements in the above listed territories.