Licensure Requirements

To obtain licensure, graduates must have completed the requirements established by each state or national licensing board. Licenses require successful passage of a country's national board examinations and may require the passage of additional state licensing exams.  Postdoctoral requirements may vary among US states. The National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) administers complete integrated examinations in three parts that reflect the different stages of a candidate's optometric education and training. The earliest date for a student candidate to take the Part I examination is March of the third professional year at an accredited institution. The earliest date for a candidate to take the Part II examination is in December during the candidate's fourth year at an accredited institution. Students are eligible to take the Part III examination on or after August 1st, of the fourth year.

Students intending to practice in Canada must seek a Certificate of Competence in Optometry in some provinces. This requires that those students take and pass the Optometry Examining Board of Canada (OEBC) examination.  

It is the responsibility of the individual student to pass national board examinations. For additional information regarding licensure, contact the following agencies:  

National Board of Examiners in Optometry  
200 S. College Street, #2010  
Charlotte, NC 28202  
Phone: 800-969-EXAM (3926) or 704-332-9565 
Fax: 704-332-9568  


Optometry Examining Board of Canada 
37 Sandiford Drive, Suite 403  
Stouffville, Ontario  
L4A 3Z2  
Phone:  905-642-1373  
Fax: 905-642-3786  

Midwestern University’s Doctor of Optometry meets the educational requirements for licensure to practice as an optometrist in the following states and territories: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, U.S. Virgin Islands, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

Each student should check the additional licensure requirements for the state, district, or territory in which the students intends to pursue employment.

Special Note: Licensure in Oklahoma requires that you must have passed the Laser Therapy for the Anterior Segment Course offered by the Northeastern State University.